Random eclectic dress

image

First I laid out the fabric I planned on using and cut them in increasing increments. Like the title says, eclectic!

image

1: Here I took a tshirt, and measured just under bust line with chalk. 2: Set the first layer of fabric on top to make sure it was wide enough. 3: The stack of all the other fabric layers. 4: Set the second layer just to make sure.

image

1: With right sides together, I put the first layer over the shirt to check placement (after having sewn the seam together for the first layer). 2: Ran a gather stitch on the top of the first layer, gathered it only Slightly, and placed in on the shirt, again right sides together.  3+4: Pin pin pin! And sew it on!

image

Here’s it turned inside out. (Chalk mark easily comes off, don’t worry)

image

I didn’t trim the shirt underneath yet, since I need some length still.

image

With it turned right side out, I did a second stitch about an inch and a half from the first stitch, creating a casing for elastic. I made a guide so that it would be even all the way around. And left about an inch gap at the back to thread the elastic through.

image

Once the casing was done, I trimmed the tshirt with about 2 inches of allowance for good measure.

image

1: Made a hem add small as I could on each layer (obviously having sewn together each layers sides together). 2+3: Placed each layer on the layer before it, literally layering them hehe. 4: I did a 6 inch gap between each one so that the total length would be long enough for my shortness. The gaping can be adjusted for desired dress length.

image

With a gather stitch on each layer, I gathered it enough to make it for the previous layer, sewing it on to the layer. (2 shots showing the gathered layers, and all the layers sewn on.)

image

With it inside out, I then trimmed of the excess fabric off each layer. It makes it fit much easier once trimmed, believe me.

image

I then hemmed the bottom layer to complete all the layers.

image

On the tshirt, I trimmed of the neck and sleeve hems.

image

I then ran a short gather down the middle of the neck, cinched it, and stitched over the gather to keep it in place.

image

Here I took two pieces of ribbon, cut a small hole in the shoulder, and tied up the sleeves. Cute widdle bows!

image

And tada! Dress is complete! With an added belt for looks. Doubt I’ll wear it out of the house though. Mostly just fulfilled my need to create something.  🙂

Leave a Reply

